January 2013

Planning continues as we finalise the design of the new church facilities in Stage 1 of the Faith for the Future project. A congregational meeting on 19th December was well attended and there was much constructive input. Since then the committee has consulted further with relevant experts and fine tuning of the design continues.

Included in Stage 1 of the new building will be pastor's offices, an administration area, a large hall with a stage, meeting rooms and a lounge, a commercial kitchen, children's church and youth areas. Discussions with experts have resulted in decisions regarding everything from the latest flooring and ceilings, taps and storage, to the placement of the photocopier and sinks and benches for preparation of flowers!

Building plans are working their way through official approvals, the steps remaining are as follows:

- Perth City Council is expected to sign off on plans soon
- · Metropolitan Redevelopment Authority will then sign off
- Architect will finalise the construction drawings (about 1 month)
- Building Licence approval (about 2 weeks)
- Tenders will be called
- A Congregational meeting will be called to seek approval to begin
- Demolition
- Building construction to begin
- To be completed by 2014

During construction (a minimum of eight months) our facilities will be limited and groups using the current hall are making contingency plans. Please speak to your group leaders to find out more.

The onsite facilities during construction will be a temporary office over the footpath and a toilet block on the grass in front of the church. The cry room at the back of the church is intended for use as an office or small meeting area.

These short-term inconveniences are necessary before we can enjoy the new building. Please pray that God may guide us all through these challenges until completion day! If you have any questions or comments, please speak to any of our committee members; Pastor Greg Pfeiffer, Pastor André Meyer, Chairman Mike Graebner, Terry Sellner, Bill Trenear, Noel Reid, Jon Offszanka, Alexandra Naisbitt, Diane Lauer, David Wilson, Simon Stanton and Ruth Brisbane.